No announcement yet.

Educate me about stainless cable railings

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Educate me about stainless cable railings

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, but it seems like this section gets more traffic, and I do have a structural question (see tensioners below).

I have been working on building a deck on my house for five years now (it's a big deck), and I'm finally to the point where I can finish up the ipe decking this year and maybe move on to railings. We want to install one of the 1/8" stainless cable railings. My priorities are:

1. Meets code.

2. Cheap.

3. As invisible as possible.

4. Cheap.

There seem to be several systems out there, but it seems like everyone prices theirs differently, and anchors them differently too. Anyone have any experience with one brand or another they care to comment on? Feeney seems about the easiest to find (even at Lowe's if I recall), there's also Atlantis, and even eBay and Amazon kits. I have every tool under the sun and don't really concern myself with the whole "ease of installation" thing (if you saw how I built my deck, you'd understand) so I'd rather buy a big spool of cable instead of those silly pre-cut lengths that I have to cut to fit anyway. I also have no problem swaging my own ends, if it saves me a few bucks.